Skip to content

And here’s a “tingle up MY leg”

07/27/2011

Regarding O’Bullshit.

The stupidity of the American voter;

Six months after I ran for a public office, I met a random person who said, “Oh you’re Bill? I voted for you.” I replied, “Thank you. What part of my platform did you like?”

“Oh, I voted for you because I once had a boyfriend named Bill.” With this level of intelligence going into the voting process, it’s not hard to understand the problems we have with our elected officials.

The problems with democracy will never be solved without a “Conflict of Interest Amendment” prohibiting people who receive benefits from a government to vote in that government’s election. Our founding fathers never invisoned the welfare state we have now. We are really close to the point at which recipients outnumber donors.

To solve the current problem we need for “everyone to have a little skin in the game.” A 5% minimum income tax regardless of income level would help solve our financial crises.

Posted by Bill  on  07/26  at  11:41 AM | #
I answered that one.
12 Comments
  1. 07/27/2011 22:50

    I think everyone should be paying 5%, at least on their welfare payments.

    As a matter of fact, I support higher taxes on a sliding scale on the poor.

    Under 20K – 25%

    Under 50K – 20%

    Under 100KL – 15%

    Under 250K – 10@

    and 500K and over 5%.

    That way everyone should be motivated…

  2. 07/27/2011 23:55

    My theory is if 10% is good enough for God, it’s good enough for the government. But the 1040 is the size of a postcard. Gross incomeX10% for anybody that has a job and makes an income. If you are on welfare, you don’t vote. Period. Why let anyone vote themselves a raise in their welfare benefits? As for that 10%? Doesn’t matter who you are or what you do. GrossX10%. The huge income earners generally pay fuck all in taxes through deductions, and yet they still pay 80% of the national income taxes. As for welfare recipients? Max income based on Husband, Wife, 2 children. Period. Breeding the welfare class then becomes unproductive.

  3. FX Phillips permalink
    07/28/2011 06:31

    OT But what’s new.

    Found these two articles linked over at Best of the Web.

    You may have heard the James Taggart of the real world Jeff Immelt demanding that businesses shut up and start hiring.Only to then to ship a segment of GE’s medical imaging business to Fascist China.

    I guess being a member of the Politbur…. er…um… Presidential Council of Economic Advisers means never having to follow your own demands.

    Being a hypocrite is clearly a prerequisite to be a part of this junta.

    CM

    Simplifying the tax code at a lower rate, a moratorium and rescission of the ridiculous
    regulatory regime at all governmental levels and the end to the government picking winners and loser through redistributionist corporate subsidies would turn the engine of job creation and innovation to full blast.

    Our economy has stalled because there is too much input from people who couldn’t cut it in the world over which they now exercise control.

  4. 07/28/2011 09:16

    Being a hypocrite is clearly a prerequisite to be a part of this junta.

    I like to call it a Putsch rather than a “junta”. I don’t think it’s the correct word for what we’ve got going on here; I just like the sound of the word …..Putsch, … or Der ObamaPutsch.

  5. 07/28/2011 12:47

    Exactly, FX. Fastest, simplest, easiest job creation engine imaginable. Oh, and the welfare class? ONLY those who CANNOT work, physically or mentally completely incapable. Here at the base we have the Rehab Services for the Handicapped. They work at various extremely low level “take out the trash/wash the dishes at the chow hall” type jobs. They feel like they’re doing something, and it helps.

  6. 07/28/2011 14:25

    Sams says

    I like to call it a Putsch rather than a “junta”. I don’t think it’s the correct word for what we’ve got going on here;

    I don’t necessarily disagree. A junta is usually what results from a putsch. You are not alone in your affinity for that word. I am reading a book right now by Richard Pipes, eminent Sovietologist, an he conspicuously likes to use that particular word. Usually I use the term coup d’ etat but I was reading something the other day that that is not quite correct that an over throw of the legal constitutional order is really a coup d’ main. It is true that the coup is yet to be a fait accompli but it is close enough to use the end terms that such an action portends.

    I don’ think this gang of thieves has any legitimacy so I try not describe them with terms that would convey legitimacy.

  7. 07/28/2011 15:15

    CM

    They work at various extremely low level “take out the trash/wash the dishes at the chow hall” type jobs. They feel like they’re doing something, and it helps.

    I have a son who is mildly autistic(ashberger’s syndrome) and he would love to be able have a job even on that level at this point.

    In the parlance of the Beltway these are the jobs that “Americans won’t do”. Instead of giving these jobs to teenagers or the mildly impaired they import an illegal workforce that we end up subsidizing with the formerly mentioned byzantine and confiscatory tax code.

    Believe me if it looks like a nightmare from the outside just think… I have a front row seat to all this bullshit.

  8. 07/28/2011 19:21

    jobs that “Americans won’t do”

    Horse. Shit. Do THIS or don’t eat. Amazing how well that works.

  9. 07/29/2011 08:04

    “Horse. Shit. Do THIS or don’t eat.”

    I remember hearing those words from my Dad when I was a kid! He’d use them as a motivational tool to get us to do our chores around the house. It always seemed to work quite well!

    MR

  10. 07/29/2011 09:17

    FX, you called out the James Taggart of the real world. Here in my state, we have a business owner going Galt.
    http://www.theblaze.com/stories/right-out-of-atlas-shrugged-hear-an-exasperated-alabama-businessman-tell-the-feds-im-just-quitting/

    Hi CM! Saw your note on my blog and thought I’d come check out yours. You’re being added to my feed reader. Also, saw in the About Me section that you’re located in one of my favorite stompin’ grounds. I’m frequently at Ft. Bliss and have a very good friend who lives in Anthony. I love seeing the sun come up over the Franklin mountains.

  11. 07/29/2011 10:26

    Thank you ma’am, just a good ol’ Suthen boy here in the wild wild west. And I’ve got to wonder just how many large business owners are going to “Go Galt”.
    MR, it works amazingly well.

  12. 07/29/2011 10:43

    Ima Wurdibitsch says

    FX, you called out the James Taggart of the real world. Here in my state, we have a business owner going Galt.

    Yeah I heard that on his show. It is cryin’ shame and ties right back into CM’s post just prior to this.

    I know some people personally who are looking to do the same thing. Small busness owners who are just tired of feeding the beast and being berated because the sophists in Washington claim it isn’t fair that they only pay 35 to 50 percent of their income to our “altruistic, intellectual betters” so it can be re-distributed in a more “enlightened” and “equitable” manner.

Comments are closed.

