Skip to content

Some absolutely gorgeous examples

01/07/2016

These are historical art.

12 Comments
  1. upaces88 permalink
    01/07/2016 07:05

    I want one and I don’t even know what I’d do with it. I have been around guns,deer huting, fishing, and boats,
    All I have is my little 25cal/acp. I have a hidden seam in my purse. I have to walk at night sometimes about 3/4 o a mile to a grocery store. She is always ith me.

  2. 01/07/2016 07:13

    Very good, ma’am. VERY good. It’s something.

  3. upaces88 permalink
    01/07/2016 07:25

    I may(?) have told you this. This was years ago. My daughter called me– she was coming from from College (UNT-Denton, TX). She wanted her chocolate chip cookies. I didnt’ have enough sugar so I just went across the street fo borrow a cup. I was gone maybe(?) 5 minutes.

    I got home, made the cookies and went to bed. I was fast asleep. This is seemingly strange. I heard a voice from the corner of my bedroom, “Elaine! Wake up!”

    I woke up just in time to see a figure standing over me *due to a street light shining into the hallway adjacent to my room). with his hand held high over his head. he slung it down towards my head. By instinct, my foot flew up to block the blow (broke the little bones in m foot)…he immediately ran out the door…..I lived!

    I called the police. The Captain said, “Elaine, even if he is already out the door (Texas rule), shoot him and drag him back into the house. Nothing will be said.”

  4. upaces88 permalink
    01/07/2016 07:27

    The object tried to kill me with was MY hammer I had left outside on the porch. I was buiding steps; and left it there. He picked it up. He lived right next door.

  5. 01/07/2016 07:28

    Wake up call, was it?

  6. upaces88 permalink
    01/07/2016 07:30

    Exactly!!!
    This kid…and that is what he was..a kid….had already raped a 14 yr old girl at school. He should already have been in jail.

  7. Dr. Jeff permalink
    01/07/2016 15:17

    I used to own a MAS 49/56, but I had to sell it when I was short of money some years ago. It was an extraordinary rifle. Mine was chambered in 7.62 NATO by setting back the barrel, not sleeving the chamber.

    It managed to make it to me through the curio and relic law, before California realized what it was. To stay legal when they changed the law, I had to remove the integral grenade launcher and trim about an inch off the barrel.

    The barrel trim and re-crown made it incredibly accurate since it removed the worn rifling near the muzzle. I didn’t finish the full series of accuracy tests on it, but with the iron sights, I kept all my shots in a 3 or 4″ circle at 100 yards. That includes flyers, flinches, and 50 year old eyeballs. That’s ALL, if I’d separated out the groups, some would have been about an inch. The hardest part was recalibrating the gas system to deal with some reloads I was working with.

    Strong, compact, reliable, accurate, I miss it. The French army didn’t lack for good equipment.

  8. 01/07/2016 23:52

    I’ve got a couple of 36s, and I like them a lot. A 49/56 would absolutely rock my collection!

  9. 01/07/2016 23:52

    Or under the turf.

  10. 01/07/2016 23:53

    Should have done his next victim a favor.

  11. Dr. Jeff permalink
    01/08/2016 02:10

    Keep your eye on the gun shows, they show up sometimes. Be careful of the 7.62 conversion, some were done by sleeving the chamber and can be dangerous.

    Removing the grenade launcher worked so well on mine, unless you get one with an immaculate bore, I’d recommend it on g.p. Where you gonna get French rifle grenades anyway?

    I got a sleeve made to replace the gas valve. I soldered it in place and then with a set screw and a hex key, I could reset the gas system any way I wanted.

  12. 01/08/2016 07:26

    Good ideas all. One of my 36s is a .308, and it is barrel adjusted, not sleeved.

Comments are closed.

